BASKETBALL RULES INTERPRETATIONS

by NFHS on October 06, 2017


Publisher's Note: The National Federation of State High School Associations is the only source of official high school interpretations. They do not set aside nor modify any rule. They are made and published by the NFHS in response to situations presented. Robert B. Gardner, Publisher, NFHS Publications 2017

2017-18 NFHS Basketball Preseason Guide Corrections: Page 8, Play 5 Ruling: Eliminate the last sentence, "Had A10 somehow made the three-pointer, " It is incorrect; Page 8: The comment under the NFHS Foul Chart should read: If one of a multiple foul is intentional or flagrant, two free throws should be given for the intentional or flagrant foul. If the multiple foul includes an intentional foul and a flagrant foul, two free throws should be given for each foul.

2017-18 NFHS Basketball Case Book Alteration 10.5.1 SITUATION B: At halftime, as the teams, coaches and officials are making their way through a hallway to the dressing room, a Team A member verbally abuses one of the officials. RULING: The official must decide if the offense is major. Under 4-48, if not deemed to be major and neither a warning nor technical has been charged (direct or indirect) to the head coach, the bench personnel could be issued a warning. If a warning is issued, this would be reported to both teams, recorded in the scorebook, and the head coach would lose coaching-box privileges. If the offense was judged to be major or a warning or technical has already been issued to the head coach, a technical foul is charged to the team member and is also charged indirectly to the head coach resulting in the loss of coaching-box privileges. The third quarter will begin with two Team B free throws and the ball awarded at the division line for a throw-in. The alternating-possession arrow is unaffected. Team A will also have one foul toward the team-foul count. During intermission, all team members are bench personnel and are penalized accordingly. If the conduct is flagrant, the team member shall be disqualified. (4-48, 10-5-1a)

SITUATION 1: School A has placed its 28-foot coaching box parallel to the basketball floor so that it is 10 feet from the division line. RULING: This is an incorrect placement of the coaching box. The 28-foot coaching box should be measured from the end line of the basketball court toward the division line. The end of the coaching box near the scoring table must allow for a minimum of 14 feet of clear space toward the division line. NOTE: Regardless of the length of the coaching box mandated by the state, a minimum 14-foot area beginning at the division line and moving toward the end line should not include any portion of the coaching box regardless of the size and the alternate placement. (1-13-2)

SITUATION 2: The state association has allowed Team A to adjust the placement of its coaching box because of the design of the bleachers and the stairs leading into the bleachers. To gain the full 28 feet for the coaching box, the box has been extended beyond the end line of the playing court. RULING: Illegal placement of the coaching box. The placement of the box can be altered but it cannot extend beyond the end line of the court nor can it encroach into the 14-foot area near the division line. (1-13-2)

SITUATION 3: Team A is making a throw-in near the division line in the team's frontcourt. A1's throw-in is deflected by B1 who is applying direct pressure on A1. A2 jumps from the team's frontcourt, catches the ball in the air and lands in the backcourt. RULING: Backcourt violation on Team A. The throw-in ends when it is legally touched by B1. When A2 gains possession/control in the air, he/she has frontcourt status. A backcourt violation has occurred when A2 lands in the backcourt. (9-9-1, 9-9-3)

SITUATION 4: Team A is making a throw-in near the division line in the team's backcourt (Team B's frontcourt). A1's throw-in is deflected by B1 who is applying direct pressure on A1. B2 jumps from his/her frontcourt, catches the ball in the air and lands in the backcourt. RULING: Backcourt violation on Team B. The throw-in ends with B1's deflection (legal touch). When B2 gains possession/control in the air, he/she has frontcourt status. A backcourt violation has occurred when B2 lands in backcourt. (9-9-1, 9-9-3)

SITUATION 5: Team A is making a throw-in near the division line in the team's backcourt (Team B's frontcourt). A1's throw-in is intercepted by B1. B1 jumps from his/her frontcourt, catches the ball in the air and lands with the first foot in the frontcourt and second foot in the backcourt. RULING: No violation, legal play. It doesn't matter if one foot lands before the other provided it is a "normal landing." Since there was no deflection, the throw-in had not ended. (9-9-1, 9-9-3)

SITUATION 6: Team A is making a throw-in near the division line in the team's frontcourt (Team B's backcourt). A1's throw-in is deflected by B1 who is applying direct pressure on A1. B2 jumps from his/her backcourt and catches the ball in the air. B2 lands with the first foot in the frontcourt and second foot in the backcourt. RULING: Backcourt violation on Team B. The throw-in ends with the deflection (legal touch) by B1. B2 gains possession/control and first lands in Team B's frontcourt and then steps in Team B's backcourt. The provision for making a normal landing only applies to the exceptions of a throw-in and a defensive player, and is only for the player making the initial touch on the ball. (9-9-1, 9-9-3)

SITUATION 7: A1, in the team's frontcourt, passes towards A2, also in the team's frontcourt. B1 deflects the ball toward Team A's backcourt. The ball bounces only in Team A's frontcourt before crossing the division line. While the ball is still in the air over Team A's backcourt, but never having touched in Team A's backcourt, A2 gains possession of the ball while standing in Team A's backcourt. RULING: Backcourt violation on Team A. Team A was still in team control and caused the ball to have backcourt status. Had A2 permitted the ball to bounce in the backcourt after having been deflected by B1, there would have been no backcourt violation. (4-4-1, 4-4-3, 9-9-1)

SITUATION 8: A1, while dribbling the ball in the frontcourt near the midcourt line, has the ball strike the midcourt line and as the ball comes up from the dribble, A1 touches the ball and continues to dribble. RULING: Backcourt violation. A1 may not be the first to touch the ball in the backcourt if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt, before it went to the backcourt. (9-9-1)

SITUATION 9: A1 has the ball for an end-line throw-in in his/her frontcourt. The administering official reaches a four-second count when A1 passes the ball to A2, who had been standing in the free-throw lane since A1 had the ball at his/her disposal. RULING: Legal. Even though a team is now in control during a throw-in, the three-second rule specifically requires that a team be in control in its frontcourt for a violation to occur. Technically speaking, the thrower-in is out of bounds and not located in the frontcourt. (4-35-2, 9-7)

SITUATION 10: A1 has the ball for an end-line throw-in in his/her backcourt. The administering official reaches a four-second count when A1 passes the ball onto the court. A1's pass to A2, who is also in Team A's backcourt, takes several bounces and six seconds before A2 picks up and controls the ball. RULING: Legal. Even though a team is now in control during a throw-in, the 10-second rule specifically requires that a player/team be in continuous control in its backcourt for 10 seconds for a violation to occur. Technically speaking, the thrower-in is out of bounds and not located in the backcourt. (4-35-2, 9-8)

SITUATION 11: A1 has the ball for an end-line throw-in in his/her frontcourt. A1's pass to A2, who is in the frontcourt standing near the free-throw line, is high, bounces several times and goes into Team A's backcourt untouched. A2 is then the first to control the ball in Team A's backcourt. RULING: Legal. There is no backcourt violation since player control and team control had not yet been established in Team A's frontcourt before the ball went into Team A's backcourt. The throw-in ends when A2 legally touches the ball in the backcourt and the backcourt count starts as soon as A2 gains control in his/her backcourt. (4-12-2, 9-9)

SITUATION 12: A1 has the ball for an end-line throw-in in his/her frontcourt. A1's pass to A2, who is in the frontcourt standing near the division line, is high and deflects off A2's hand and goes into Team A's backcourt. A2 is then the first to control the ball in Team A's backcourt. RULING: Legal. There is no backcourt violation since player control and team control had not yet been established in Team A's frontcourt before the ball went into Team A's backcourt. The throw-in ends when A2 legally touches the ball, but the backcourt count does not start until A2 gains control in his/her backcourt. (4-12-2, 9-9)

SITUATION 13: The head coach of Team A is upset that the foul count against his team is 7 to 2. He voices his opinion in an unsporting manner to the contest official. RULING: The official should stop play if it is not a break situation with a potential scoring opportunity and give the coach an official warning by notifying the scorekeeper and then letting the coach know that he has been warned. The scorekeeper should make note of the warning in the scorebook. This situation does not have to be given a warning; the coach could be issued a technical immediately. (4-48)

SITUATION 14: During a live ball, the assistant coach is off the bench and out of the coaching box giving instructions to a player on the court. RULING: The official should rule a technical on the assistant coach for being off the bench and out of the coaching box. (4-48)

SITUATION 15: During the second quarter, the head coach is off the bench expressing his disapproval of several calls made. As the team brings the ball down the floor into the frontcourt, the trail official stops play to issue a warning. RULING: The official is correct in issuing a warning to the coach for the complaints. The scorekeeper is notified, as well as the coach, of the warning. Another warning cannot be given. (4-48)

SITUATION 16: During the warm-up period, the referee notices on the back of Team B's jersey the letters (a) PHHS and (b) P+E+T. RULING: Legal in (a) as the letters on the jersey represent the official name of the school; illegal in (b) as the letters do not represent the name of the school, which makes the jersey illegal. The head coach shall be charged with a direct technical foul and the game will begin with the opponents shooting two free throws and receiving the ball for a division line throw-in. The head coach will lose coaching-box privileges. (3-4-4, 10-6-4)

SITUATION 17: >SITUATION 17: Team A is wearing a jersey with the school name above the number on the front and the player name in the shoulder area across the back. RULING: Legal. It is permissible to place the names in these locations. (3-4-4)